Hearse houses were once a common sight throughout Britain, but are now extremely rare. They were built to house the horse drawn carriage used to bring the deceased to funeral, but declined in use as roads improved and the internal combustion engine came of age. Simple buildings, many were appropriated to other uses, most fell into disrepair and were removed to make way for further development in the villages they once served.
The Cyffylliog Hearse House is Grade II listed, along with St Mary's Church, the lychgate and churchyard walls, part of a group of historically important buildings. It boasts a small plaque above the doors dating the building to 1823 and the work of Edward Owen, probably of Fachlwyd Hall.